Simplifying Sarah

Namesake…

Posted on: 07.27.10

Isaiah 43:1-3a, 18-21, 25

“But now thus says the Lord, he who created you, O Jacob, he who formed you, O Israel: “Fear not, for I have redeemed you; I have called you by name, you are mine. When you pass through the waters, I will be with you; and through the rivers, they shall not overwhelm you; when you walk through fire you shall not be burned, and the flame shall not consume you. For I am the Lord your God, the Holy One of Israel, your Savior (v. 1-3a)… “Remember not the former things, nor consider the things of old. Behold, I am doing a new thing; now it springs forth, do you not perceive it? I will make a way in the wilderness and rivers in the desert. The wild beasts will honor me, the jackals and the ostriches, for I give water in the wilderness, rivers in the desert, to give drink to my chosen people, the people whom I formed for myself that they might declare my praise. (v. 18-21)…“I, I am he who blots out your transgressions for my own sake, and I will not remember your sins. (v.25)”

This is rocking me today. I woke up with “Isaiah 43” on my mind/heart, and had to read it. Now, the words are coming alive, almost as if God is saying these verses straight to me- specifically

  • Don’t be afraid of what is coming, stand strong in the Lord
  • Don’t get stuck in the past, allow God to be God.
  • Praise your way through, it is as essential as water.
  • God casts my sins away, and forgives me for HIS sake…

The last one is the most exciting ever!! He forgives me for HIS sake! It’s not about me, it’s NOT about me!!!! We get fixated on ourselves, so much of the time, that we miss what God is trying to do all around. If it was about me, and he saved me for my sake, then I’d be full of pride. But since it’s all about HIM and what we do for HIS glory, that means messed up me gets to make HIM famous!

In my very best moments, as a child, I could make the ‘Niglio’ name proud. Now a happily married woman, I could make Mr. W proud… but it’s not about Niglio’s, or Mr. W.’s namesake- I’m part of God’s namesake. I’m his. Because of his choosing, and doing.

It’s never been about me, isn’t that great? Guess what…. it’s not about you, either.

-Mrs. W.

1 Response to "Namesake…"

I totally agree that its not about us, but about the One who created us!!!

Leave a Reply

